How I spent my Christmas weekend
Monday, December 27th, 2004 05:42 pmThursday:
Worked what was supposed to be a half day, but ended up being a whole day. Sent 1 new title and 13 paperback covers to the archive service (clearing the archiving backlog is currently my major project).
Had dinner with
Vacuumed and did dishes.
Celebrated being off work Friday by going to the late show of Finding Neverland, which (a) no one had told me featured Johnny Depp with a Scottish accent ;-) although I probably should have known that, and (b) was lovely and heartbreaking and I think Tiger Boy would have liked it, I saw a certain amount of him in it.
Forgot to plug the cord back into the phone (having loaned it to
Friday:
Continued tidying the house. Repotted the evergreen that I got as a holiday party favor from CSAIL (and which I have taken to calling my Chanukah bush, principally to annoy
Went out for a very pleasant lunch with
Bought groceries. Made the basics of Shabbat dinner for 15+ (baked salmon, and pasta with spinach and white beans and tomatoes). Sat quietly on the couch for an hour between candlelighting and shul.
Went to shul. Came home. Squeezed said 15+ people into my living room. Ate, drank, sang, and made merry; everyone seemed to have a good time. Stayed up much too late.
Saturday:
Went to shul. Stayed all the way through kiddush for the first time in ages.
Stopped off at
Sunday:
Had
Did more dishes. Finished reading Treasure Island, which I have owned since I was a kid but never before managed to read more than halfway through. On this pass, finally, I enjoyed it a lot.
Took
Sent 3 new titles and 18 paperback covers to the archive service; go me.
Rescheduled lunch with
Got a look at the awesome pictures
Tonight:
No clue, really. Can you believe it? I am torn between continuing to stay home and be domestic, going after-Xmas-sale shopping (not that I actually need much of anything), and going out to finally see The Incredibles -- possibly by myself, since it seems everyone I know has already seen it and/or left town. EDIT: Yeah, I'm going with door #3. 6:50pm at Boston Common. Meet me there if you want.